Sign in

Best NCT Albums By Unit Group NCT 127, NCT Dream, and WayV

Kim Bum
Best NCT Albums By Unit Group NCT 127, NCT Dream, and WayV

On April 4, 2016, the group's first sub-unit, NCT U (the "U" standing for United), was made public. At the time, it consisted of six people: Taeil, Taeyong, Doyoung, Ten, Jaehyun, and Mark. There are two digital singles by NCT U: "The 7th Sense" (with Taeyong, Doyoung, Ten, Jaehyun, and Mark) on April 9 and "Without You" (including Taeil, Doyoung, and Jaehyun in Korean and Kun from SM Rookies in Chinese) on April 10.


NCT U made its television debut on April 9 with NCT On Air on V Live, which was hosted by Kim Hee-chul of Super Junior. The next day at the 16th Music Feng Yun Bang Awards, they performed live for the first time in China alongside rookies Kun and Winwin. The group debuted in Korea on Music Bank on April 15. Since then, they have made three appearances in the reality series NCT Life, which also stars other SM Rookies trainees.


Let’s look at some popular NCT albums in the article below.


NCT 2018 Empathy


It is one of the best and most popular NCT albums. The debut studio album by the South Korean boy band NCT, an unrestricted group project under the direction of SM Entertainment, is titled NCT 2018 Empathy (stylized in uppercase). Twelve of the album's fourteen tracks were made available as singles between 2016 and 2018, making it the first group release to have 18 members from three distinct units.


It was also the first to formally introduce the three new members, Kun, Jungwoo, and Lucas. Among others who contributed to the album's composition and production were Matt Schwartz, Tommy Strate, The Stereotypes, Timothy "Bos" Bullock, Deez, Yoo Young-jin, Ryan S. Jhun, MZMC, Adrian McKinnon, Shin Hyuk, Josh Cumbee, Andrew Choi, Sara Forsberg, and Lee Soo-man, the group's label founder.



When NCT 2018 Empathy was first released, reviews of the album's "assembled" tracklist and general sound quality ranged from negative to mixed. Following its release in 2018, the album became the group's first release to obtain a Platinum KMCA certification and enjoyed commercial success domestically, debuting at number two on the Gaon Album Chart.



It was also a hit internationally, reaching its highest point at number five on the Billboard World Albums and being the first NCT product to chart elsewhere in Europe. The album has sold more than 636,055 physical copies overall as of 2022. 




The second studio album from the South Korean boy band NCT, an unrestricted group project managed by SM Entertainment, is titled NCT 2020 Resonance. NCT 2020 Resonance is a part of the "NCT 2020" project, which saw all current NCT members from various units work together on a full-length album. It is similar to their previous release, NCT 2018 Empathy.


This album introduces two new NCT members, Shotaro and Sungchan, as well as all 21 members of NCT's three active units, NCT 127, NCT Dream, and WayV. On October 12, 2020, the first part was made available, then on November 23, 2020, the second part.



Under the name NCT U, "Make A Wish" and "From Home" were released as the first and second singles, respectively, to promote the album's first half. The lead singles for the album's second section, "Work It" and "90's Love," were both released.


Through appearances on music shows and their own reality TV program, NCT World 2.0, the group promoted the album. It was the group's first album to top the Gaon Album Chart as NCT, and it went on to become their first single to sell over a million copies without any repackaging, making it a commercial triumph. 


Universe NCT Album

The South Korean boy band NCT's third studio album and ninth overall album is titled Universe. SM Entertainment issued it on December 14, 2021. NCT 2021 Universe, like their earlier albums NCT 2018 Empathy and NCT 2020 Resonance, is a part of the "NCT 2021" project, which saw all of the current NCT members from various units work together on a full-length release.


This time, 21 out of 23 members from NCT's three active units—NCT 127, NCT Dream, and WayV—are included on the album. Members Winwin and Lucas were unable to take part.




The well-known boy band NCT from SM Entertainment set a new record in 2021 by selling more than 10 million NCT albums.


The group sold more than 10.91 million copies of its albums last year, including those from the unit groups NCT 127, NCT DREAM, and WayV.

Kim Bum
Zupyak is the world’s largest content marketing community, with over 400 000 members and 3 million articles. Explore and get your content discovered.
Read more