Users themselves must turn on encryption.
A "dangerous" and "unsafe" design, according to the whistle-blower.
Besides unbroken encryption works much like the corresponding feature in the Chrome browser: all messages are deleted when you close the conversation.
- Edward Snowden @Snowden May 27, 2016
Edward Snowden is far from the only one who questions the decision.
Google makes even some criticism from within his own ranks.
Thai Doung, a security consultant who worked with the app, saw the decision in a blog post.