logo
logo

NASA sees Talim now extra-tropical

avatar
James Mckinnis
Sep 18, 2017 17:25
img

Tropical Storm Talim made landfall on Kyushu, the large island of southwestern Japan, where it weakened to an extra-tropical storm.

NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite captured an image of the storm after its transition.

The Visible Infrared Imaging Radiometer Suite (VIIRS) instrument aboard NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite captured a visible light image of Talim on Sept. 18 at 0254 UTC (Sept. 17 at 10:54 p.m. EDT).

The VIIRS image showed that Talim resembled a frontal system as the bulk of clouds were north and northeast of the center.

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC) issued the final advisory on Talim on Sept. 18 at 0300 UTC (Sept. 17 at 11 p.m. EDT).

At that time, Extra-tropical storm Talim was centered near 41.7 degrees north latitude and 141.0 degrees east longitude, about 79 miles north of Misawa, Japan.

collect
0
avatar
James Mckinnis
Sep 18, 2017 17:25
guide
Zupyak is a free content platform for publishing and discovering stories, software and startups.