logo
logo

FYI: iOS apps can turn on your camera any time without warning

avatar
Troy Jones
img

Researcher pushes Apple to add temporary permissions, indicator lights

Felix Krause, founder of Fastlane.Tools, said the way Apple's software handles camera access and recording is leaving many fans vulnerable to being spied on by apps on their gadgets without any notification or warning.

Krause explained today that because Apple only requires the user to enable camera access one time and then gives free rein without requiring a camera light or notification, a malicious application could go far beyond its intended level of access.

"iOS users often grant camera access to an app soon after they download it (e.g., to add an avatar or send a photo)," the researcher explained.

"These apps, like a messaging app or any news-feed-based app, can easily track the user's face, take pictures, or live stream the front and back camera, without the user’s consent."

The nightmare scenario, said Krause, is an app that is installed and asks once for camera access in order to take an avatar image or upload a photo, only to begin constantly watching the user and uploading the pictures covertly.

collect
0
avatar
Troy Jones
guide
Zupyak is a free content platform for publishing and discovering stories, software and startups.