logo
logo

Twitter’s privacy settings, explained

avatar
Robert Flenard
img

Here’s a quick primer on your Twitter privacy settings, and what they mean.

If you do, then you must approve all new followers before they can see your tweets.

Tweets from protected accounts can only be seen by followers, and won’t show up in third-party search engines like Google (barring shenanigans with third-party apps, but we’ll get back to that in a moment).

On browsers, this means a general location will be attached to your tweet, indicating where you were when you tweeted.

On mobile devices, the option is called “precise location,” and enabling it allows Twitter to access your GPS in order to, as the name suggests, use your exact location.

The next three settings, “Discoverability,” “Photo Tagging,” and “Twitter for Teams” can be taken as a whole, given that they do roughly the same thing; They allow you to control how much other users can involve you.

collect
0
avatar
Robert Flenard
guide
Zupyak is a free content platform for publishing and discovering stories, software and startups.