Sign in

Familiar with the CMMI 2.0 Standard Category Areas and Capability Areas

Familiar with the CMMI 2.0 Standard Category Areas and Capability Areas

The Capability Maturity Model Integration also recognized as CMMI is a process model established by Software Engineering Institute at Carnegie Mellon University (SEI). Organizations work together with the American Government and the Department of Defence (DoD) to create the product. As a result, CMMI is typically required in software development agreements with those organizations. CMMI Institute is presently in charge of managing the model.

The CMMI certification highlights itself as a behavioral and process model that details important components and industry best practices. It gives organizations a framework for doing process improvements and developing behaviors that lower risks and defaults in the creation of products, services, and software.


As an extension of the Capability Maturity Model (CMM), CMMI was first published in 2002. That model was initially created for software development, but it may now be used across a variety of sectors for hardware and service development. The model's most recent iteration, CMMI 2.0, was released in 2018. When addressing CMMI, there's a choice between two representations, each of which supports the pursuit of a certain set of improvement goals. These two sorts of models are:     

  • Staged Representation – utilizes a pre-defined set of process areas and offers tested iterations of changes, each of which serves as the basis for the next. 
  • Continuous Representation – utilizes procedures chosen in a manner that the organization considers to be the most suitable and efficient to achieve business goals. As a result, this depiction resembles other quality standards like ISO 15504 or ASPICE.  

Changes to the CMMI paradigm included new terminology as well as a modification in how requirements were organized into what is now known as Category Areas and Capability Areas. There are four Category Areas in the updated version of the model. These are clusters of connected fields where best practices are laid down to enhance particular undertakings of an organization or project. Here are these four areas:  

  • Doing – includes subjects that have to do with the creation, acquisition, and delivery of high-quality solutions
  • Managing – encompasses topics about the capacity to schedule, coordinate, and manage the workforce 
  • Enabling – discusses topics including cause analysis, decision-making, preserving product integrity, and speaking with stakeholders   
  • Improving – covers areas that are focused on increasing organizational performance while developing, managing, and improving processes and related assets.   

Each Category Area is made up of distinct Capability Areas. They stand for collections of similar and extensive procedures that are frequently encountered during the design and development of products.   

The Capability Areas for Doing are:   

  • Ensuring Quality – Aids in raising the caliber of goods and services.   
  • Engineering the Developing Products – Enables considering the project from a development perspective.   
  • Delivering and Managing Services – Allow for taking a services-based approach to the project.   
  • Selecting and Managing Suppliers – Helps in forming a partnership between the buyer and the supplier to guarantee that the consumer receives high-quality solutions.  

The Capability Areas for Managing are:   

  • Planning and Managing Work – Assists in estimating the quantity of work that has to be done, planning how to execute it, and managing it so that it is completed as planned.   
  • Managing Business Resilience – Describes a minimal set of important functions that must continue in the event of a severe disruption to normal operations and addresses the ability to foresee, plan for, and manage risk.    
  • Managing the Workforce – Refers to the process by which a company creates and retains the human resources necessary to carry out present and future activities.  

The Capability Areas for Enabling are:   

  • Supporting Execution – Includes figuring out the key reasons for chosen results and fixing them. Benefits in the creation of decision-making structures, the upkeep of work product integrity, and the standard of stakeholder communication.   
  • Managing Safety and Security   

The Capability Areas for Improving are:   

  • Sustaining Practice and Persistence – Ensures that procedures are successful in attaining business objectives, are sustainable, and are applied consistently throughout the organization.   
  • Enlightening Performance – focuses on measuring, analyzing, and comprehending the project's capabilities and efficiency, as well as the demands and objectives for process improvement.  

Global Manager Group provides Editable CMMI V2.0 documents as per the latest CMMI V2.0 model for a quick and easy certification process. It contains a CMMI manual, procedures, templates, and formats that comply with CMMI process areas requirements by using the CMMI audit checklist. For further information about the CMMI V2.0 documentation kit, visit the official site of the Global Manager Group.

Source: https://cmmiconsultantindia.wordpress.com/2023/07/31/familiar-with-the-cmmi-2-0-standard-category-areas-and-capability-areas/

Zupyak is the world’s largest content marketing community, with over 400 000 members and 3 million articles. Explore and get your content discovered.
Read more