Sign in

Why Do Countries Have Different Time Zones and DST?

Smith Miller
Why Do Countries Have Different Time Zones and DST?

If you check the clock in your country and ask a friend what time it is on the opposite side of the world in the country they live in, you will notice a big difference. It is remarkable how we all live on the same planet yet experience different times each day.

It could still be daytime where you live but night in some other country. The world has different time zones, and some countries are working on abolishing DST or Daylight Saving Time, while others change their clocks after a certain period. But why do these different time zones occur? Let us find out!

Reason Why Countries Have Different Time Zones

It is pertinent to note here that if all countries accepted the standard time zone chart, there would be 24 official time zones. That said, many countries like China were reluctant to accept standard time from the get-go.

For example, China follows a single time zone rather than its three standard time zones. In the same vein, several other nations have adopted the approach of using increments of 15-30 minutes rather than going for an entire hour. This is why additional time zones have been created because several countries do not follow the standard time.

All About Daylight Saving Time

Another reason why some states and countries decide to follow different time zones is Daylight Saving Time. DST is not a time zone, yet it requires some states and countries to set their clocks an hour backward or an hour forward from the usual standard time and some countries like Iran are planning to abolish DST. But why do countries follow DST?

Daylight Saving Time is essentially followed so that people can best use the light. For example, if a country moves the clock an hour backward in autumn, it allows people to transfer a whole daylight hour from evening to the morning. This, in turn, allows them to be more productive. In spring, the opposite happens. In short, DST is a good way to save an extra daylight hour in the evening.

Daylight Saving Time & Standard Time

Many countries only follow the standard time while others that do not follow DST live in the standard time zone or the winter time zones. Some of the most popular countries that do not follow DST are:

● South Korea

● North Korea

● Japan

● China

● Argentina

● The United Arab Emirates

● Tunisia

● Brazil

On the flip side, many countries have once again considered switching their clocks. That said, they have still decided to implement the standard time zone in which they have chosen to stay in the hours of summer throughout the year. Some countries, provinces, and states that follow this approach are:

● Belarus

● Yukon

● Argentina

● Uzbekistan

● Iceland

● Turkmenistan

● Kyrgyzstan

● Turkey

● Malaysia

● Singapore

● Morocco

● Saskatchewan

● Namibia

● Russia

It is noteworthy that several other countries use both Daylight Saving Time and Standard Time Zones during particular times of the year. Hence, if you are a travel buff, it can stand you in good stead to know about the different time zones so that you can set appointments and plan your trips accordingly.

Content Source: https://converttimezone.org/different-time-zones-and-dst/

Smith Miller
Zupyak is the world’s largest content marketing community, with over 400 000 members and 3 million articles. Explore and get your content discovered.
Read more